one year

 

One year ago today, I embarked on the weirdest, wildest, most unbelievable experience ever. I got married.

Now, I know this doesn’t seem like that big a deal, people get married every day, all around the world. For me this step was an enormous one. I am a child of divorce. This topic had seriously dampened my idea’s and ideals of marriages and tying the knot.

Yet, I somehow maintained the fairy tale idea of a happily ever after with one man, and after 5 years together and 4 years raising our daughter, my husband finally worked up the courage to propose. And Propose he did! After I asked if he was kidding, I finally said yes!

Ten months later, I found myself gripping my father’s arm, while trying to breath while not tripping or puking as I walked down the aisle. My heart was in my throat, my knees were weak and I’m pretty sure I had the weirdest grin on my face. The only thing that kept me steady amongst the camera flashes and faces of loved ones was Dave. My husband is a very easy going, relaxed, indecisive man, and yet, I have never seen him more sure of anything. That look is what got me down the aisle.

Now, as a wife I have never been more sure of my place in this world. My place is beside him. I know alot of people would object to our order of events (Pregnant, Living Together, Baby, College, Married) but all the stuff (rough and otherwise) is what makes me so sure. This man has been through every possible issue with me, and has supported me unwaveringly through all of it. I could not ask for a better husband.

So I would like to say a huge THANK YOU! To the man who made this past year amazing, and may we be happily stuck with each other for another 60 years (at least). I love you.

-B

Leave a Reply

